Please note, your browser is out of date.
For a good browsing experience we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.

São Jorge Castle / Castelo de São Jorge

Lisbon City Center - Downtown Area

São Jorge Castle, named in honor of the Crusaders patron, is located in one of the highest hills of Lisbon, 111 meters above the sea. It is surrounded by a magnificent landscape that stretches from the Tagus estuary to the east of the city. The initial core of the castle arose in the second century. C. (during the Roman occupation of the city) and was later fortified by the Arabs. Dom Afonso Henriques won them the castle in 1147 and it served as a royal palace until 1503, when the kings moved to the new palace of Ribeira (current Comércio Square).

São Jorge Castle is divided into two parts: the citadel and castelejo. The castelejo is the inner part of square plan, crenellated walls and ten towers; already corresponds to the citadel first inner ring of walls. Over the centuries, the castle has undergone a profound erosion and was eventually rebuilt during the decades 30 and 40 of the twentieth century. In fact, the structure that today visit is a result of that reconstruction, which recovered much of its walls and climbed the towers. São Jorge Castle is open every day from 9h00 to 18h00 (21h00 from March to October), receiving performances and exhibitions regularly.

  • Open (last admission 30 min before closing time)
  • 1 Nov to 28 Feb (closed Dec24, 25 and 31 and Jan 1) | 9h00 to 18h00
  • 1 Mar a 31 Out (closed May 1) | 9h00 às 21h00
Book Now