Please note, your browser is out of date.
For a good browsing experience we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.

The National Coach Museum / Museu dos Coches

Belem Area

The National Coach Museum opened at the old ring of the Palace of Belém on the 23rd of May, 1905. It was created by Queen D. Amélia of Orleães and Bragança (the wife of king D. Carlos) as a way to preserve the important collection of vehicles belonging to the Royal House.

The museum houses a unique collection in the world consisting of vehicles from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries including coaches, berlindas, liteiras and carriages – all of which are decorated in a rich and profuse style. This makes it the most visited museum in Lisbon, if not in the whole of Portugal.

To commemorate its 110th anniversary, the museum was transferred to a brand new building designed by the Brazilian architect Paulo Mendes da Rocha in collaboration with the Portuguese architect Ricardo Bak Gordon.

The New Coach Museum, inaugurated on the 23rd of May 2015, is yet another reason to visit this wonderful collection.

Book Now